Historic Preservation

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Historic PreservationJordan Ranch House

See Historic Preservation Procedures, § 8.7 of the Land Development Code, which includes information on the criteria and process for Historic Landmark designations.

Historic Preservation Commission

The Historic Preservation Commission is an advisory group of seven volunteers appointed by the City Council. See the commission webpage for more information.

Commission meeting agendas and documents

Historic Landmarks

There are 23 designated City Historic Landmarks. To see a summary list visit the city historic landmarks page. The Historic Landmark Inventory (PDF) provides comprehensive and detailed information on each of the landmarks.

National Register propertiesThe Pumphouse

These city historic landmarks are also on
the National Register of Historic Places.

  • Chapel of the Holy Cross
  • Hart Store
  • Jordan Ranch
  • Sedona Ranger Station and Pumphouse

Historic Resources Recognition Award Program

Recognition of non-landmark properties possessing historical, architectural, or aesthetic merit. The overall goal of this program is to recognize and encourage the protection, enhancement, and use of such sites and structures for public enjoyment and cultural enrichment. This program is distinct and separate from the city of Sedona’s official historic landmarks program (Article 15, Land Use Development Code).

Proposed eligibility criteria for Historic Resource Recognition (download pdf for details):
1) Those properties currently designated (or eligible to be designated) as a Sedona landmark are not eligible for consideration.
2) Historical Significance
3) Architectural Merit
4) Use and Adaptive Reuse
6) Environmental Compatibility
7) “Spark plug” property – The first property in a neighborhood renovated that inspires renovation throughout that historic neighborhood

Commission staff liaison: Warren Campbell, (928) 203-5044